Board of Directors

Canadian Prairies Chapter Board Members 

President - David Pincock

David Pincock is the Director Medical Informatics and Physician Training program for Alberta Health Services as well as Adjunct Professor at the University of Alberta. David has formal training in business along with biology, has been working in healthcare since 2004 and informatics since 2009. He holds his CPHIMS-CA certification. Outside of work, David loves to spend time at the lake or outdoors with his family and friends. 

Past President - Bev Rhodes

Bev Rhodes currently is the Program Director for the eHealth Capacity & Adoption program for Alberta Health Services. Bev has formal training in nursing informatics along with computer science and holds her CPHIMS-CA certification. Outside of work, Bev loves to spend time in the mountains snowmobiling.

Treasurer - Kathy Ervin

Secretary - Anne Short

Clinical Informatics Lead, eHealth Capacity and Adoption-Connect Care Clinical Operations, Alberta Health Services. Loves family, travel, culture, and creative challenges (creating informatics elearning modules, quilting, cooking/baking, and remaking recipes into healthy versions).

Publications - Megan Courtney

Megan is a registered nurse, clinical informatics lead, and eHealth Competence project lead at Alberta Health Services. She loves making music, travelling and seeing all of Canada, as well as her home life with her husband and two Doodle dogs.

Program Chair - Grant Gillis

Grant works with Alberta Health Services (AHS) in the role of Director, Provincial Strategic Initiatives, with the Health Information Management program.  He is first part informaticist, second part standards developer, third part old-man surfer/golfer/skier, fourth part 60s’s garage rock music aficionado, fifth part beach bum … lots more parts, some increasingly redundant but still fondly remembered. 

Membership Chairs - Alison Bowes,

Membership Chairs - Harsh Sharma

Harsh is a Senior Advisor, Terminology Standards at Alberta Health Services. Experienced techie with a demonstrated history of working in the hospital & health care industry. Skilled in Health Informatics, Integration, Messaging Standards, and Intellectual Property Rights. 

Chapter Advocate Liaison Jason Carling

Jason in an IT architect at Alberta Health Services, and has spent 20 years working in Health IT in Western Canada.  Jason has a degree in computer science and an MBA specializing in healthcare management and is passionate about the intersection of health and technology.  Jason believes health IT is one of the best opportunities we have in Canada to ensure Canadians can sustainably maintain the universal health system that is so integral to our society and identity.

Chapter HIE Liaison Saroj Acharya

Communications Chair - Paula Loewen

Paula is an Advisor, Digital Content in the Chief Medical Information Office at Alberta Health Services. She also raises & shows Great Pyrenees dogs

Web Site Chair (Interim) - Pavel Medvedev

Pavel Medvedev is a Clinical Informatics Analyst at Alberta Health Services (AHS). Prior to joining AHS in 2016, he has had the opportunity to coordinate multi-center international clinical trials in transplant, pediatric neurology, and pediatric gastroenterology. Most recently, he has started an MSc in Medicine at the University of Alberta with an interest in the intersection of technology and healthcare. In his spare time, he enjoys travelling, playing team sports, and spending time with family.

Board Members at Large - Michael Cleghorn

Board Members at Large - Guy Paterson

Guy Paterson is a HIMSS Fellow with experience in both the US and Canada.  He has 30 years’ clinical and IT service experience and 14 years as owner of a HIT consulting company.

Board Members at Large - John Wilder

John has been in Healthcare IT for almost 30 year and is currently the VP of Business Development for IMT.   John also enjoys sourdough baking and slow, smoky BBQ.